Land-use Planning Systems in the OECD

Country Fact Sheets

image of Land-use Planning Systems in the OECD

This report provides an overview of spatial and land-use planning systems across the OECD. It contains country fact sheets that focus on formal aspects of planning systems, as they are defined by laws and regulations. The country fact sheets describe the responsibilities of each level of government with respect to spatial and land-use planning. They include a description of all spatial and land-use plans of a country and show their hierarchical relations in a diagram. For most countries, the fact sheets also contain key statistics on land use. A summary chapter provides an overview of the information in the country fact sheets and discusses land value capture tools, land expropriation procedures, reforms of the planning system, and other issues. The information provided in this report was collected through a survey that involved academic experts on planning from all 32 countries covered.




Italy has 4 levels of government: national, regional (19 regions and 2 autonomous provinces with regional powers), provincial (110 provinces, out of which 10 acquired the status of metropolitan city in 2015) and local (8 047 municipalities). Italy is a unitary country, but its land-use planning system follows a model generally observed in federal countries, with regional laws and regulations as the main source of legal provisions outlining the planning process. However, despite the high degree of regional autonomy, actual planning systems are similar across the country.


This is a required field
Please enter a valid email address
Approval was a Success
Invalid data
An Error Occurred
Approval was partially successful, following selected items could not be processed due to error