OECD Regions at a Glance 2013

image of OECD Regions at a Glance 2013

This fifth edition of OECD Regions at a Glance shows how regions and cities contribute to national growth and the well-being of societies.It updates its regular set of region-by-region indicators, examining a wide range of policies and trends and identifying those regions that are outperforming or lagging behind in their country. The report covers all 34 OECD member countries, and, where data are available, Brazil, China,Colombia, India, the Russian Federation and South Africa.

English French


Defining regions and functional urban areas

In any analytical study conducted at subnational levels, the choice of the territorial unit is of prime importance. To address this issue, the OECD has classified two levels of geographic units within each member country (). The higher level (Territorial level 2 [TL2]) consists of 363 larger regions while the lower level (Territorial level 3 [TL3]) is composed of 1 802 smaller regions. All the territorial units are defined within national borders, and each TL3 region is contained in one TL2 region. In most cases TL3 regions correspond to administrative regions, with the exception of Australia, Canada, Germany and the United States.

English French



This is a required field
Please enter a valid email address
Approval was a Success
Invalid data
An Error Occurred
Approval was partially successful, following selected items could not be processed due to error