Land-use Planning Systems in the OECD

Country Fact Sheets

image of Land-use Planning Systems in the OECD

This report provides an overview of spatial and land-use planning systems across the OECD. It contains country fact sheets that focus on formal aspects of planning systems, as they are defined by laws and regulations. The country fact sheets describe the responsibilities of each level of government with respect to spatial and land-use planning. They include a description of all spatial and land-use plans of a country and show their hierarchical relations in a diagram. For most countries, the fact sheets also contain key statistics on land use. A summary chapter provides an overview of the information in the country fact sheets and discusses land value capture tools, land expropriation procedures, reforms of the planning system, and other issues. The information provided in this report was collected through a survey that involved academic experts on planning from all 32 countries covered.




Mexico is a federal country with 3 levels of government; the national level, 32 federated states and 2 457 municipalities. The territory of the capital Mexico City is under federal control. Compared to other federal countries, the national government is an influential actor related to land use. According to the constitution, all land and water in Mexico belongs to the nation and the national government is in charge of providing legislation to operationalise this principle. It prepares the framework legislation that structures the planning system and is responsible for environmental issues and housing policy. The government also affects land use through the work of several of its agencies. Most importantly, the Secretariat of Agriculture, Territory and Urban Development (SEDATU) is active in land-use policy. It works with local governments by providing funding and technical assistance for projects that are in line with the priorities of the national government. Other important government agencies are the National Institute of Housing Promotion (INFONAVIT), the National Water Commission (CONAGUA), the National Land Ownership and Regulation Commission (CORETT) and the Secretariat of Environment and Natural Resources (SEMARNAT).


This is a required field
Please enter a valid email address
Approval was a Success
Invalid data
An Error Occurred
Approval was partially successful, following selected items could not be processed due to error