Reader’s guide

The following signs are used in figures and tables:

– : nil or negligible

. : decimal point

OECD Europe: This zone includes all European member countries of the OECD, i.e. Austria, Belgium, the Czech Republic, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Iceland, Ireland, Italy, Latvia, Lithuania, Luxembourg, the Netherlands, Norway, Poland, Portugal, the Slovak Republic, Slovenia, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland, Turkey and the United Kingdom.

OECD: This zone includes all member countries of the OECD, i.e. the countries of OECD Europe plus Australia, Canada, Chile, Colombia, Israel*, Japan, Korea, Mexico, New Zealand and the United States. Costa Rica became an OECD member on 25 May 2021 and is not included in the figures and zone aggregates of this review.

This publication presents European Union (EU) data that predate the United Kingdom's withdrawal from the European Union on 1 February 2020. Therefore, the EU aggregate presented here refers to the European Union including the United Kingdom, unless otherwise stated.

Country aggregates may include Secretariat estimates.

Monetary unit: Euro (EUR)

In 2020, USD 1 = EUR 0.876

In 2019, USD 1 = EUR 0.893

This report is based on information and data available up to 1 May 2021.

Metadata, Legal and Rights

This document, as well as any data and map included herein, are without prejudice to the status of or sovereignty over any territory, to the delimitation of international frontiers and boundaries and to the name of any territory, city or area. Extracts from publications may be subject to additional disclaimers, which are set out in the complete version of the publication, available at the link provided.

© OECD 2021

The use of this work, whether digital or print, is governed by the Terms and Conditions to be found at