Dedicated Public-Private Partnership Units

A Survey of Institutional and Governance Structures

image of Dedicated Public-Private Partnership Units
Dedicated public-private partnership (PPP) units are organisations set up with full or partial aid of the government to ensure that the skills needed to handle third-party provision of goods and services are made available and clustered together within government. Such units enhance the capacity of government to successfully manage the risks associated with a growing number and value of PPPs. Although a relatively recent phenomenon, in 2009 more than half of all OECD countries reported the existence of a dedicated unit of some kind.  

This book provides an overview of dedicated PPP units in OECD countries, including case studies covering: the State of Victoria (Australia), Germany, Korea, South Africa (an OECD enhanced engagement country), and the United Kingdom. It examines the functions and locations of dedicated PPP units, the role they play in the procurement process and  the lessons learned for other countries that have already established or are considering establishing a dedicated PPP unit.


Further reading

Public-Private Partnerships: In Pursuit of Risk Sharing and Value for Money (OECD, 2008)

English French


Dedicated PPP units: five case studies

Whereas the previous chapter introduced dedicated PPP units and their general functions across OECD member countries, this chapter examines the institutional architecture surrounding the procurement of public-private partnership projects in five case studies: Germany, Korea, the United Kingdom, the State of Victoria (Australia) and South Africa. These countries have been selected based on their respective experience with public-private partnerships and different country characteristics. All five countries have over ten years of experience with public-private partnerships. The volume and value of their projects range from 19 worth EUR 1.9 billion in South Africa to 450 projects worth EUR 43.3 billion in the United Kingdom (see Table 2.1). The sample includes four OECD member countries and one non-member country; three unitary and two federal countries; as well as four central and one sub-national/state governments.

English French

This is a required field
Please enter a valid email address
Approval was a Success
Invalid data
An Error Occurred
Approval was partially successful, following selected items could not be processed due to error