African Central Government Debt 2011

Statistical Yearbook

image of African Central Government Debt 2011

This publication provides comprehensive and consistent information on African central government debt statistics for the period 2003-2009. Detailed quantitative information on central government debt instruments is provided for 17 countries to meet the requirements of debt managers, other financial policy makers, and market analysts. Country policy notes provide background information on debt issuance as well as on the institutional and regulatory framework governing debt management policy.

Countries covered: Angola, Cameroon, Gabon, Kenya, Madagascar, Malawi, Mauritius, Morocco, Mozambique, Namibia, Nigeria, Sierra Leone, South Africa, Tanzania, Tunisia, Uganda and Zambia.



Government debt managers have the responsibility to issue debt instruments to meet the borrowing needs of governments, to manage the outstanding stock of debt and to contribute to the development of the market infrastructure. The type of debt instruments to be issued and the amounts to be raised depend not only on the volume of the borrowing requirement but also on the liquidity of the various outstanding instruments, preferences of investors and, more generally, on the financial and macroeconomic environment. Raising funds through marketable instruments will depend on factors such as access to well-functioning primary and secondary markets (in particular market liquidity), and the presence of well-developed market segments – institutional and retail investors.


This is a required field
Please enter a valid email address
Approval was a Success
Invalid data
An Error Occurred
Approval was partially successful, following selected items could not be processed due to error