African Central Government Debt 2011

Statistical Yearbook

image of African Central Government Debt 2011

This publication provides comprehensive and consistent information on African central government debt statistics for the period 2003-2009. Detailed quantitative information on central government debt instruments is provided for 17 countries to meet the requirements of debt managers, other financial policy makers, and market analysts. Country policy notes provide background information on debt issuance as well as on the institutional and regulatory framework governing debt management policy.

Countries covered: Angola, Cameroon, Gabon, Kenya, Madagascar, Malawi, Mauritius, Morocco, Mozambique, Namibia, Nigeria, Sierra Leone, South Africa, Tanzania, Tunisia, Uganda and Zambia.



Borrowing requirements by governments in Africa to finance their budget deficits are met, to a large extent, by funds raised on financial markets and by non-marketable debt via bi-lateral, multi-lateral and concessional loans. Debt management techniques and policies can influence substantially the functioning of capital markets and the development of new financial instruments. As a consequence of globalisation, cross-border government borrowings have become more significant. Government debt instruments attract both institutional and retail investors and have an important share in the portfolios of fund managers.


This is a required field
Please enter a valid email address
Approval was a Success
Invalid data
An Error Occurred
Approval was partially successful, following selected items could not be processed due to error