1887

OECD Environment Working Papers

Cette série d’études porte sur des questions relatives à l’environnement . Elle est destinée à un large public. Il s’agit généralement d’un travail collectif, mais les noms des principaux auteurs sont cités. Ces documents existent uniquement en version originale – anglais ou français – et sont assortis d’un résumé dans l’autre langue.

Anglais

Employment Impacts of Climate Change Mitigation Policies in OECD

A General-Equilibrium Perspective

A l’aide d’un modèle d’équilibre général calculable ce papier cherche à quantifier les effets sur l’emploi et le PIB d’une politique d’atténuation du changement climatique. Dans un premier temps, le papier analyse les effets négatifs directs sur le PIB d’une politique de réduction des émissions et examine les réallocations sectorielles de l’emploi, dans un cadre où les marchés du travail sont considérés comme parfaitement flexibles. Dans un second temps une hypothèse d’imperfection du marché du travail dans les pays de l’OCDE est adoptée, cette hypothèse peut créer du chômage en raison de rigidité dans l’ajustement des salaires réels. Dans un tel cas, il est montré que les recettes fiscales associées à une taxe carbone peuvent permettre de mettre en place des politiques d’emploi actives, telles des réductions des impôts sur les salaires, qui peuvent à court-terme contrecarrer l’effet négatif de la politique d’atténuation du changement climatique. Ainsi, la prise en compte dans un modèle EGC d’une imperfection du marché du travail altère la perception des effets sur le PIB des politiques de changement climatique de deux façons : premièrement en soulignant les coûts supplémentaires qu’une telle politique peut entraîner en termes d’emplois et secondement en créant des conditions favorables à l’apparition d’un phénomène de double-dividende associée à des politiques adéquates d’utilisation des recettes fiscales liées aux taxes carbones.

Anglais

Mots-clés: chômage, Politique d’atténuation du changement climatique, modèle EGC, valeur du carbone
JEL: E24: Macroeconomics and Monetary Economics / Consumption, Saving, Production, Investment, Labor Markets, and Informal Economy / Employment; Unemployment; Wages; Intergenerational Income Distribution; Aggregate Human Capital; Aggregate Labor Productivity; Q54: Agricultural and Natural Resource Economics; Environmental and Ecological Economics / Environmental Economics / Climate; Natural Disasters and Their Management; Global Warming; D58: Microeconomics / General Equilibrium and Disequilibrium / Computable and Other Applied General Equilibrium Models; H23: Public Economics / Taxation, Subsidies, and Revenue / Taxation and Subsidies: Externalities; Redistributive Effects; Environmental Taxes and Subsidies
This is a required field
Please enter a valid email address
Approval was a Success
Invalid data
An Error Occurred
Approval was partially successful, following selected items could not be processed due to error

1887

OECD Environment Working Papers

This series is designed to make available to a wider readership selected studies on environmental issues prepared for use within the OECD. Authorship is usually collective, but principal authors are named. The papers are generally available only in their original language English or French with a summary in the other if available.

English

Employment Impacts of Climate Change Mitigation Policies in OECD

A General-Equilibrium Perspective

Using a computable general equilibrium, this paper quantifies the GDP and employment effects of an illustrative greenhouse gas emissions reduction policy. The paper first analyses the direct negative economic effects of the emissions restrictions on GDP and examines labour sectoral reallocations in a framework where labour markets are perfectly flexible. The model is then modified to incorporate labour market imperfections in OECD countries that could generate unemployment, namely, short-run rigidities in real wage adjustment. It is shown that imperfect wage adjustment increases the cost of mitigation policy since unemployment increases in the short-run, but that the carbon tax revenue generated can be recycled so as offset some or all of this effect, notably when it is used to reduce wage-taxes. Thus, taking realistic labour market imperfections into account in a CGE model affects the GDP costs of mitigation policy in two ways: first by introducing extra costs due to the increased unemployment that such policy may entail; second by creating the possibility of a double dividend effect when carbon taxes are recycled so as to reduce distorting taxes on labour income..

English

Keywords: climate change mitigation policy, unemployment, CGE model, carbon pricing
JEL: Q54: Agricultural and Natural Resource Economics; Environmental and Ecological Economics / Environmental Economics / Climate; Natural Disasters and Their Management; Global Warming; D58: Microeconomics / General Equilibrium and Disequilibrium / Computable and Other Applied General Equilibrium Models; H23: Public Economics / Taxation, Subsidies, and Revenue / Taxation and Subsidies: Externalities; Redistributive Effects; Environmental Taxes and Subsidies; E24: Macroeconomics and Monetary Economics / Consumption, Saving, Production, Investment, Labor Markets, and Informal Economy / Employment; Unemployment; Wages; Intergenerational Income Distribution; Aggregate Human Capital; Aggregate Labor Productivity
This is a required field
Please enter a valid email address
Approval was a Success
Invalid data
An Error Occurred
Approval was partially successful, following selected items could not be processed due to error