1887

OECD Environment Working Papers

Cette série d’études porte sur des questions relatives à l’environnement . Elle est destinée à un large public. Il s’agit généralement d’un travail collectif, mais les noms des principaux auteurs sont cités. Ces documents existent uniquement en version originale – anglais ou français – et sont assortis d’un résumé dans l’autre langue.

Anglais

Public Financial Institutions and the Low-carbon Transition

Five Case Studies on Low-Carbon Infrastructure and Project Investment

Les institutions financières publiques (IFP) sont particulièrement bien placées pour compléter les efforts des pouvoirs publics visant à mobiliser les investissements privés dans des projets et des infrastructures sobres en carbone. Cette étude identifie les outils, instruments et méthodes dont se servent cinq IFP pour financer et / ou accroître les investissements du secteur privé au niveau national dans les transports durables, l’efficacité énergétique et l’énergie renouvelable dans des pays membres de l’OCDE. De 2010 à 2012, ces cinq institutions – le Groupe Caisse des Dépôts en France, la KfW Bankengruppe en Allemagne, l’UK Green Investment Bank, la Banque européenne d’investissement, et la Banque européenne pour la reconstruction et le développement – ont apporté un total de plus de 100 milliards EUR d’investissements en fonds propres et de financement en faveur de projets d’efficacité énergétique, d’énergies renouvelables et de transports durables. Elles font appel à des méthodes à la fois traditionnelles et nouvelles pour lier des projets aux moyens de financement, en améliorant l’accès aux capitaux ; en facilitant la réduction et le partage des risques ; en renforçant les capacités des acteurs de marché et, dans un cadre plus large, en mettant en place des pratiques et des conditions de marché.

Anglais

Mots-clés: bas carbone, changement climatique, institutions financières publiques, infrastructure, efficacité énergétique, énergie renouvelable, investissement, finance climat
JEL: G23: Financial Economics / Financial Institutions and Services / Pension Funds; Non-bank Financial Institutions; Financial Instruments; Institutional Investors; Q54: Agricultural and Natural Resource Economics; Environmental and Ecological Economics / Environmental Economics / Climate; Natural Disasters and Their Management; Global Warming; Q01: Agricultural and Natural Resource Economics; Environmental and Ecological Economics / General / Sustainable Development; G18: Financial Economics / General Financial Markets / General Financial Markets: Government Policy and Regulation; O44: Economic Development, Innovation, Technological Change, and Growth / Economic Growth and Aggregate Productivity / Environment and Growth; G28: Financial Economics / Financial Institutions and Services / Financial Institutions and Services: Government Policy and Regulation; G11: Financial Economics / General Financial Markets / Portfolio Choice; Investment Decisions
This is a required field
Please enter a valid email address
Approval was a Success
Invalid data
An Error Occurred
Approval was partially successful, following selected items could not be processed due to error

1887

OECD Environment Working Papers

This series is designed to make available to a wider readership selected studies on environmental issues prepared for use within the OECD. Authorship is usually collective, but principal authors are named. The papers are generally available only in their original language English or French with a summary in the other if available.

English

Public Financial Institutions and the Low-carbon Transition

Five Case Studies on Low-Carbon Infrastructure and Project Investment

Public financial institutions (PFIs) are well-positioned to act as a key leverage point for governments’ efforts to mobilise private investment in low-carbon projects and infrastructure. The study identifies the tools, instruments and approaches used by five PFIs to directly support and scale-up domestic private sector investment in sustainable transport, energy-efficiency and renewable energy in OECD countries. Between 2010-2012, these five institutions – Group Caisse des Dépôts in France, KfW Bankengruppe in Germany, the UK Green Investment Bank, the European Investment Bank, and the European Bank for Reconstruction and Development – have provided over 100 billion euros of equity investment and financing for energy efficiency, renewable energy and sustainable transport projects. They use both traditional and innovative approaches to link low-carbon projects with finance through enhancing access to capital; facilitating risk reduction and sharing; improving the capacity of market actors; and shaping broader market practices and conditions.

English

Keywords: climate change, public financial institutions, investment, infrastructure, climate finance, renewable energy, energy efficiency, low-carbon
JEL: G23: Financial Economics / Financial Institutions and Services / Pension Funds; Non-bank Financial Institutions; Financial Instruments; Institutional Investors; Q54: Agricultural and Natural Resource Economics; Environmental and Ecological Economics / Environmental Economics / Climate; Natural Disasters and Their Management; Global Warming; Q01: Agricultural and Natural Resource Economics; Environmental and Ecological Economics / General / Sustainable Development; G18: Financial Economics / General Financial Markets / General Financial Markets: Government Policy and Regulation; O44: Economic Development, Innovation, Technological Change, and Growth / Economic Growth and Aggregate Productivity / Environment and Growth; G28: Financial Economics / Financial Institutions and Services / Financial Institutions and Services: Government Policy and Regulation; G11: Financial Economics / General Financial Markets / Portfolio Choice; Investment Decisions
This is a required field
Please enter a valid email address
Approval was a Success
Invalid data
An Error Occurred
Approval was partially successful, following selected items could not be processed due to error