ISCED 2011 Operational Manual

Guidelines for Classifying National Education Programmes and Related Qualifications

image of ISCED 2011 Operational Manual

The structure of education systems varies widely between countries. In order to produce internationally comparable education statistics and indicators, it is necessary to have a framework to collect and report data on education programmes with a similar level of educational content. UNESCO’s International Standard Classification of Education (ISCED) is the reference classification for organising education programmes and related qualifications by education levels and fields. The basic concepts and definitions of ISCED are intended to be internationally valid and comprehensive of the full range of education systems.

ISCED 2011 is the second major revision of this classification (initially developed in the 1970s and first revised in 1997). It was adopted by the UNESCO General Conference in November 2011. Prepared jointly by the UNESCO Institute for Statistics (UIS), the OECD and Eurostat, this operational manual provides guidelines and explanatory notes for the interpretation of the revised classification, by each education level. It also includes country examples of programmes and qualifications that have been classified to ISCED 2011.

This manual will be useful for national statisticians collecting and reporting data on education to international organisations, as well as for policymakers and researchers interested in better understanding of these data.

English French


Perspectiva general de los niveles CINE 2011

Centre for Educational Research and Innovation

La Clasificación Internacional Normalizada de la Educación (CINE) representa una clasificación de referencia que permite ordenar los programas educativos y sus respectivas certificaciones por niveles de educación y campos de estudio. Las definiciones y conceptos básicos de la CINE se han formulado de modo que sean universalmente válidos y aplicables al espectro total de sistemas educativos. La CINE 2011 representa una segunda e importante revisión de esta clasificación (originalmente elaborada en la década de los 70 y revisada por primera vez en 1997). Fue adoptada por la Conferencia General de la UNESCO en noviembre de 2011.

Spanish French, English

This is a required field
Please enter a valid email address
Approval was a Success
Invalid data
An Error Occurred
Approval was partially successful, following selected items could not be processed due to error