1887

Documents de travail du Département des Affaires économiques de l'OCDE

Documents de travail du Département des affaires économiques de l’OCDE recouvrant toutes les activités de ce département : conjoncture économique, analyse politique et projections ; politique fiscale, dépenses publiques et fiscalité ; questions structurelles dont le vieillissement, la croissance et la productivité, la migration, l’environnement, le capital humain, le logement, les échanges et les investissements, les marchés de l’emploi, la réforme réglementaire, la concurrence, la santé et d’autres thèmes.

Anglais, Français

Les avantages et coûts d'une politique monétaire très expansionniste

Jusqu’où aller – et demeurer – dans la direction d’une politique monétaire hautement expansionniste dépend du solde entre les avantages et coûts de l’assouplissement monétaire additionnel et de son évolution attendue dans le temps. Ce document propose une ébauche d’un cadre d’analyse pour évaluer ce solde et l’applique à quatre principales régions économiques de l’OCDE : les États-Unis, la zone euro, le Japon et le Royaume-Uni. L’efficacité d’un stimulus additionnel via l’assouplissement quantitatif ou des indications prospectives pour affecter les prix d’actifs, les taux d’intérêt et les flux de crédit dépendra de l’état de l’économie et du fonctionnement des marchés financiers. Les coûts marginaux pourraient croître en raison d’une prise de risques excessive ; d’anticipations d’inflation plus élevées ; d’une plus grande probabilité de régénération des créances douteuses ; et de risques accrus d’instabilité financière dans la phase de sortie, surtout lorsque la sortie de la politique monétaire accommodante est proche dans le temps et que les signes d’effets négatifs sont déjà apparents. Le solde entre les avantages et coûts est estimé être différent au sein des principales régions de l’OCDE. Aux États-Unis, l’argument en faveur d’un stimulus additionnel s’est affaibli, tandis que l’opposé est vrai pour la zone euro et le Japon. Au Royaume-Uni, le diagnostic est moins clair.

Anglais

Mots-clés: assouplissement quantitatif, boom de prix d’actifs, indications prospectives, régénération, retombées, politique monétaire
JEL: G21: Financial Economics / Financial Institutions and Services / Banks; Depository Institutions; Micro Finance Institutions; Mortgages; F32: International Economics / International Finance / Current Account Adjustment; Short-term Capital Movements; E44: Macroeconomics and Monetary Economics / Money and Interest Rates / Financial Markets and the Macroeconomy; E31: Macroeconomics and Monetary Economics / Prices, Business Fluctuations, and Cycles / Price Level; Inflation; Deflation; G12: Financial Economics / General Financial Markets / Asset Pricing; Trading volume; Bond Interest Rates; F31: International Economics / International Finance / Foreign Exchange; E43: Macroeconomics and Monetary Economics / Money and Interest Rates / Interest Rates: Determination, Term Structure, and Effects; E5: Macroeconomics and Monetary Economics / Monetary Policy, Central Banking, and the Supply of Money and Credit
This is a required field
Please enter a valid email address
Approval was a Success
Invalid data
An Error Occurred
Approval was partially successful, following selected items could not be processed due to error

1887

OECD Economics Department Working Papers

Working papers from the Economics Department of the OECD that cover the full range of the Department’s work including the economic situation, policy analysis and projections; fiscal policy, public expenditure and taxation; and structural issues including ageing, growth and productivity, migration, environment, human capital, housing, trade and investment, labour markets, regulatory reform, competition, health, and other issues.

The views expressed in these papers are those of the author(s) and do not necessarily reflect those of the OECD or of the governments of its member countries.

English, French

The Benefits and Costs of Highly Expansionary Monetary Policy

How far to go – and to remain – in the direction of highly expansionary monetary policy hinges on the balance of marginal benefits and costs of additional monetary easing and its expected evolution over time. This paper sketches a framework for assessing this balance and applies it to four OECD economic areas: the euro area, Japan, the United Kingdom and the United States. The effectiveness of further stimulus via quantitative easing or forward guidance in affecting asset prices, interest rates and credit flows will depend on the state of the economy and the functioning of financial markets. Marginal costs could rise due to excessive risk-taking; higher inflation expectations; higher likelihood of ever-greening; and higher risks of financial instability in the exit phase, especially when exit from monetary accommodation is close in time and signs of negative effects are already apparent. The balance of marginal benefits and costs is found to be different across the main OECD areas. In the United States, the case for additional stimulus is weakening, while the opposite is true for the euro area and Japan. In the United Kingdom, the assessment is less clear cut.

English

Keywords: spillovers, monetary policy, quantitative easing, asset price booms, forward guidance, ever-greening
JEL: G21: Financial Economics / Financial Institutions and Services / Banks; Depository Institutions; Micro Finance Institutions; Mortgages; F32: International Economics / International Finance / Current Account Adjustment; Short-term Capital Movements; E44: Macroeconomics and Monetary Economics / Money and Interest Rates / Financial Markets and the Macroeconomy; E31: Macroeconomics and Monetary Economics / Prices, Business Fluctuations, and Cycles / Price Level; Inflation; Deflation; G12: Financial Economics / General Financial Markets / Asset Pricing; Trading volume; Bond Interest Rates; F31: International Economics / International Finance / Foreign Exchange; E43: Macroeconomics and Monetary Economics / Money and Interest Rates / Interest Rates: Determination, Term Structure, and Effects; E5: Macroeconomics and Monetary Economics / Monetary Policy, Central Banking, and the Supply of Money and Credit
This is a required field
Please enter a valid email address
Approval was a Success
Invalid data
An Error Occurred
Approval was partially successful, following selected items could not be processed due to error