1887

Documents de travail du Département des Affaires économiques de l'OCDE

Documents de travail du Département des affaires économiques de l’OCDE recouvrant toutes les activités de ce département : conjoncture économique, analyse politique et projections ; politique fiscale, dépenses publiques et fiscalité ; questions structurelles dont le vieillissement, la croissance et la productivité, la migration, l’environnement, le capital humain, le logement, les échanges et les investissements, les marchés de l’emploi, la réforme réglementaire, la concurrence, la santé et d’autres thèmes.

Anglais, Français

Le système financier indien

l'heure d'une deuxième vague de réformes a-t-elle sonné ?

Le système financier indien a considérablement changé depuis les années 90. Les taux d'intérêt ont été déréglementés et de nouveaux acteurs ont été autorisés dans le secteur bancaire et celui des opérations de marché et de titres. Le marché d'actions indien est de classe internationale. De nouvelles banques privées sont apparues, plus axées sur la satisfaction du client que les banques publiques plus anciennes. Par ailleurs, l'épargne intérieure a connu une expansion considérable, très similaire à celle qu'avaient connue les économies d'Asie de l'Est pendant leur période de forte croissance. Cela renforce la nécessité de nouvelles réformes du secteur financier. Les banques doivent notamment disposer d'une latitude nettement plus grande en matière de répartition de leurs actifs. Si les banques du secteur public ont paru plus solides au public lors de la crise de 2007/08, en raison de la garantie implicite de l'État dont elles bénéficiaient, il convient de les privatiser afin d'améliorer leur gouvernance et de minimiser la nécessité récurrente de les recapitaliser. Les obstacles à l'entrée de nouveaux acteurs qui subsistent doivent être réduits. L'inclusion financière revêt une importance prioritaire et les restrictions relatives à la microfinance devraient être évitées. Il est également nécessaire de remettre à plat le cadre législatif et réglementaire, en consolidant les différentes dispositions juridiques en vigueur. De telles réformes permettraient des gains d'efficience dans le secteur financier et auraient sans doute des effets d'entraînement positifs sur le reste de l'économie, contribuant ainsi à entretenir une croissance rapide.

Anglais

Mots-clés: banques du secteur public, recapitalisations bancaires, microfinance, privatisations bancaires, inclusion financière, banques privées, taux d’intérêt, Inde, réformes du secteur financier, régulation financière
JEL: G28: Financial Economics / Financial Institutions and Services / Financial Institutions and Services: Government Policy and Regulation; G22: Financial Economics / Financial Institutions and Services / Insurance; Insurance Companies; Actuarial Studies; G23: Financial Economics / Financial Institutions and Services / Pension Funds; Non-bank Financial Institutions; Financial Instruments; Institutional Investors; N20: Economic History / Financial Markets and Institutions / Economic History: Financial Markets and Institutions: General, International, or Comparative; K22: Law and Economics / Regulation and Business Law / Business and Securities Law; G21: Financial Economics / Financial Institutions and Services / Banks; Depository Institutions; Micro Finance Institutions; Mortgages; K23: Law and Economics / Regulation and Business Law / Regulated Industries and Administrative Law; E65: Macroeconomics and Monetary Economics / Macroeconomic Policy, Macroeconomic Aspects of Public Finance, and General Outlook / Studies of Particular Policy Episodes; D14: Microeconomics / Household Behavior and Family Economics / Household Saving; Personal Finance; H81: Public Economics / Miscellaneous Issues / Governmental Loans; Loan Guarantees; Credits; Grants; Bailouts; E44: Macroeconomics and Monetary Economics / Money and Interest Rates / Financial Markets and the Macroeconomy; H63: Public Economics / National Budget, Deficit, and Debt / National Debt; Debt Management; Sovereign Debt; Q14: Agricultural and Natural Resource Economics; Environmental and Ecological Economics / Agriculture / Agricultural Finance
This is a required field
Please enter a valid email address
Approval was a Success
Invalid data
An Error Occurred
Approval was partially successful, following selected items could not be processed due to error

1887

OECD Economics Department Working Papers

Working papers from the Economics Department of the OECD that cover the full range of the Department’s work including the economic situation, policy analysis and projections; fiscal policy, public expenditure and taxation; and structural issues including ageing, growth and productivity, migration, environment, human capital, housing, trade and investment, labour markets, regulatory reform, competition, health, and other issues.

The views expressed in these papers are those of the author(s) and do not necessarily reflect those of the OECD or of the governments of its member countries.

English, French

Financial Sector Reform in India

Time for a Second Wave?

The Indian financial system has changed considerably since the 1990s. Interest rates have been deregulated and new entrants allowed in the banking and the securities business. The Indian equity market has become world-class. New private banks have emerged that are more customer-oriented than the older state-owned banks. Meanwhile, the scale of saving within the economy has expanded considerably, much as in East Asian economies during their high-growth period. This adds to the need for further financial-sector reform. In particular, banks need much greater freedom in asset allocation. While public-sector banks did appear sounder to the public during the 2007/08 crisis due to implicit government backing, they ought to be privatised to improve their governance and minimise the recurrent need for recapitalisation. The remaining obstacles to new entry have to be reduced. Financial inclusion is an important priority and restrictions on microfinance should be avoided. The regulatory and legal framework also needs to be overhauled, consolidating the diverse legislation. While such reforms would improve financial sector efficiency they would also likely have positive spillover effects on the rest of the economy and help sustain rapid growth. This Working Paper relates to the 2011 OECD Economic Survey of India (www.oecd.org/eco/surveys/india)

English

Keywords: financial sector reform, bank privatisation, bank recapitalisation, interest rates, financial regulation, private banks, public-sector banks, financial inclusion, India
JEL: G28: Financial Economics / Financial Institutions and Services / Financial Institutions and Services: Government Policy and Regulation; G22: Financial Economics / Financial Institutions and Services / Insurance; Insurance Companies; Actuarial Studies; G23: Financial Economics / Financial Institutions and Services / Pension Funds; Non-bank Financial Institutions; Financial Instruments; Institutional Investors; N20: Economic History / Financial Markets and Institutions / Economic History: Financial Markets and Institutions: General, International, or Comparative; K22: Law and Economics / Regulation and Business Law / Business and Securities Law; G21: Financial Economics / Financial Institutions and Services / Banks; Depository Institutions; Micro Finance Institutions; Mortgages; K23: Law and Economics / Regulation and Business Law / Regulated Industries and Administrative Law; E65: Macroeconomics and Monetary Economics / Macroeconomic Policy, Macroeconomic Aspects of Public Finance, and General Outlook / Studies of Particular Policy Episodes; D14: Microeconomics / Household Behavior and Family Economics / Household Saving; Personal Finance; H81: Public Economics / Miscellaneous Issues / Governmental Loans; Loan Guarantees; Credits; Grants; Bailouts; E44: Macroeconomics and Monetary Economics / Money and Interest Rates / Financial Markets and the Macroeconomy; H63: Public Economics / National Budget, Deficit, and Debt / National Debt; Debt Management; Sovereign Debt; Q14: Agricultural and Natural Resource Economics; Environmental and Ecological Economics / Agriculture / Agricultural Finance
This is a required field
Please enter a valid email address
Approval was a Success
Invalid data
An Error Occurred
Approval was partially successful, following selected items could not be processed due to error