1887

Documents de travail du Département des Affaires économiques de l'OCDE

Documents de travail du Département des affaires économiques de l’OCDE recouvrant toutes les activités de ce département : conjoncture économique, analyse politique et projections ; politique fiscale, dépenses publiques et fiscalité ; questions structurelles dont le vieillissement, la croissance et la productivité, la migration, l’environnement, le capital humain, le logement, les échanges et les investissements, les marchés de l’emploi, la réforme réglementaire, la concurrence, la santé et d’autres thèmes.

Anglais, Français

La faiblesse du commerce mondiale après la crise reflète-t-elle seulement une faible demande?

La croissance du commerce mondial a été particulièrement faible ces dernières années, même relativement à la croissance du PIB mondial. Ce papier montre que cette apparente rupture dans la relation entre croissance du commerce mondial et du PIB mondial est due dans une large mesure à deux facteurs : une mesure inappropriée du PIB mondial et une faiblesse exceptionnelle de la demande dans la zone euro. Pour mesurer la demande en biens échangeables, le PIB mondial agrégé avec des taux de change du marché est plus adapté que la mesure conventionnelle basée sur des conversions en parité de pouvoir d’achat. De plus, la faiblesse exceptionnelle de la demande dans la zone euro (où l’intensité du commerce est particulièrement forte) a eu un effet négatif substantiel sur les flux intra-zones, qui sont habituellement comptabilisés dans le commerce mondial. Une fois que le PIB mondial est agrégé avec des taux de change de marché et que l’on soustrait les flux intra-zone-euro au commerce mondial, les estimations économétriques suggèrent ainsi que sur les 15 dernières années, l’élasticité de long-terme du commerce au PIB mondial a été similaire à celle des années 90. En effet, la faiblesse du commerce mondial après la crise est essentiellement due à une faiblesse de la demande mondiale plutôt qu’à un changement structurel. Cela est montré par les estimations économétriques de ce papier et également confirmé par l’observation des évolutions de l’investissement mondial, de la fragmentation de la production internationale et du protectionnisme.

Anglais

Mots-clés: prévisions, Commerce mondial, élasticité du commerce
JEL: F10: International Economics / Trade / Trade: General; C53: Mathematical and Quantitative Methods / Econometric Modeling / Forecasting Models; Simulation Methods; F17: International Economics / Trade / Trade: Forecasting and Simulation
This is a required field
Please enter a valid email address
Approval was a Success
Invalid data
An Error Occurred
Approval was partially successful, following selected items could not be processed due to error

1887

OECD Economics Department Working Papers

Working papers from the Economics Department of the OECD that cover the full range of the Department’s work including the economic situation, policy analysis and projections; fiscal policy, public expenditure and taxation; and structural issues including ageing, growth and productivity, migration, environment, human capital, housing, trade and investment, labour markets, regulatory reform, competition, health, and other issues.

The views expressed in these papers are those of the author(s) and do not necessarily reflect those of the OECD or of the governments of its member countries.

English, French

Does the Post-Crisis Weakness of Global Trade Solely Reflect Weak Demand?

Global trade growth over the past few years has appeared extraordinarily weak, even in relation to weak global GDP growth. This paper shows that the apparent breakdown in the relationship between global trade and global GDP growth is largely explained by two factors: an inappropriate measurement of global GDP and extraordinary demand weakness in the euro area. As a measure of demand for traded goods, global GDP at market exchange rates is more appropriate than the conventional purchasing power parity-based measure. Moreover, extraordinary demand weakness in the euro area – which is a particularly trade intensive region – has had a substantial negative effect on intra-euro area trade flows, which are commonly counted towards global trade. When global GDP is measured at market exchange rates and intra-euro area flows are removed from the measure of global trade, econometric estimations suggest that over the past 15 years the long-term elasticity of global trade to GDP has been similar to that of the 1990s. Indeed, the overwhelming part of post-crisis trade weakness can be attributed to weak global demand rather than structural changes, according to the econometric estimations in this paper and supporting evidence on changes in global investment, international production fragmentation and protectionism.

English

Keywords: trade elasticity, forecasting
JEL: F10: International Economics / Trade / Trade: General; C53: Mathematical and Quantitative Methods / Econometric Modeling / Forecasting Models; Simulation Methods; F17: International Economics / Trade / Trade: Forecasting and Simulation
This is a required field
Please enter a valid email address
Approval was a Success
Invalid data
An Error Occurred
Approval was partially successful, following selected items could not be processed due to error