1887

Documents de travail du Département des Affaires économiques de l'OCDE

Documents de travail du Département des affaires économiques de l’OCDE recouvrant toutes les activités de ce département : conjoncture économique, analyse politique et projections ; politique fiscale, dépenses publiques et fiscalité ; questions structurelles dont le vieillissement, la croissance et la productivité, la migration, l’environnement, le capital humain, le logement, les échanges et les investissements, les marchés de l’emploi, la réforme réglementaire, la concurrence, la santé et d’autres thèmes.

Anglais, Français

Relancer le secteur locatif privé du marché du logement ?

Leçons tirées des expériences allemande, finlandaise, tchèque et néerlandaise

Nous étudions dans ce Document de travail les mesures pouvant être prises pour stimuler le secteur locatif privé du marché du logement, et comparons les données d'expérience relatives aux politiques publiques et aux réformes mises en oeuvre en Allemagne, aux Pays-Bas, en Finlande et en République tchèque. Bien que l'importance du secteur locatif privé ait diminué dans de nombreux pays depuis la Seconde Guerre mondiale, certains signes montrent qu'il reprend de l'importance et qu'il est possible de le « relancer ». Un secteur locatif privé fonctionnant bien et des politiques du logement neutres peuvent améliorer le fonctionnement du marché de l'immobilier d'habitation – en favorisant la mobilité résidentielle, en élargissant l'éventail des possibilités de logement offertes aux ménages, et en débouchant sur une offre concurrentielle et des prix abordables. Le secteur locatif privé peut avoir des effets positifs sur l'économie et la mobilité des travailleurs, et réduire les problèmes d'inefficience et les risques inhérents aux logements occupés par leurs propriétaires et au logement social. Les arbitrages à opérer entre les différents objectifs des politiques du logement, et les obstacles réglementaires à l'application de règles du jeu équitables entre les différents segments du marché de l'immobilier d'habitation (logements occupés par leurs propriétaires, logement locatif social, logement locatif privé) sont analysés. L'article expose les options envisageables pour favoriser le bon fonctionnement du secteur locatif privé : des leçons sont tirées concernant la sécurité d'occupation, les règles de fixation des loyers, le logement social, les mécanismes de subventionnement de la demande, les mesures budgétaires en faveur du logement locatif et des propriétaires occupants, ainsi que les obstacles qui limitent l'offre sur le secteur locatif privé. L'expérience des pays considérés montre qu'il est difficile de mettre en place des règles du jeu équitables, puisqu'on observe des problèmes d'inefficience dans chacun des quatre pays examinés. Néanmoins, on relève de nombreux exemples positifs de stimulation du secteur locatif privé : les réformes mises en oeuvre en Finlande et en République tchèque ont permis au secteur locatif privé de devenir un segment concurrentiel et important du marché du logement, tandis que les politiques appliquées aux Pays-Bas sont adaptées pour égaliser les conditions de concurrence. La « résilience » dont a fait preuve le système allemand en matière de logement pendant la crise économique montre que l'ampleur du secteur locatif privé et la neutralité de l'action publique vis-à-vis du mode d'occupation des logements ont d'importants effets stabilisants sur l'économie allemande.

Anglais

Mots-clés: République tchèque, logement locatif privé, Pays-Bas, prix des logements, mobilité de la main-d’oeuvre, marché du logement, Allemagne, Finlande, financement du logement, logement locatif social, politique du logement
JEL: H24: Public Economics / Taxation, Subsidies, and Revenue / Personal Income and Other Nonbusiness Taxes and Subsidies; includes inheritance and gift taxes; R21: Urban, Rural, Regional, Real Estate, and Transportation Economics / Household Analysis / Urban, Rural, Regional, Real Estate, and Transportation Economics: Housing Demand; R52: Urban, Rural, Regional, Real Estate, and Transportation Economics / Regional Government Analysis / Regional Government Analysis: Land Use and Other Regulations; G21: Financial Economics / Financial Institutions and Services / Banks; Depository Institutions; Micro Finance Institutions; Mortgages; R38: Urban, Rural, Regional, Real Estate, and Transportation Economics / Real Estate Markets, Spatial Production Analysis, and Firm Location / Production Analysis and Firm Location: Government Policy; E21: Macroeconomics and Monetary Economics / Consumption, Saving, Production, Investment, Labor Markets, and Informal Economy / Macroeconomics: Consumption; Saving; Wealth; L74: Industrial Organization / Industry Studies: Primary Products and Construction / Construction; R31: Urban, Rural, Regional, Real Estate, and Transportation Economics / Real Estate Markets, Spatial Production Analysis, and Firm Location / Housing Supply and Markets
This is a required field
Please enter a valid email address
Approval was a Success
Invalid data
An Error Occurred
Approval was partially successful, following selected items could not be processed due to error

1887

OECD Economics Department Working Papers

Working papers from the Economics Department of the OECD that cover the full range of the Department’s work including the economic situation, policy analysis and projections; fiscal policy, public expenditure and taxation; and structural issues including ageing, growth and productivity, migration, environment, human capital, housing, trade and investment, labour markets, regulatory reform, competition, health, and other issues.

The views expressed in these papers are those of the author(s) and do not necessarily reflect those of the OECD or of the governments of its member countries.

English, French

A Revival of the Private Rental Sector of the Housing Market?

Lessons from Germany, Finland, the Czech Republic and the Netherlands

This Working Paper studies ways to stimulate the private rental sector (PRS) of the housing market – and compares experiences with policies and reforms in Germany, the Netherlands, Finland and the Czech Republic. Although in many countries the PRS has decreased in importance since the Second World War, there are signs of a growing importance and possible ‘revival’ of the PRS. A well-functioning PRS and neutrality in housing policies can improve the functioning of the housing market – by promoting residential mobility, increasing housing options for households and generating competitive supply and affordable prices. The PRS can have positive effects on the economy and labour mobility and reduce inefficiencies and risks of owner-occupied and social housing. Trade-offs between goals in housing policies, and regulatory impediments to a level playing field between segments of the housing market (owner-occupancy, social rental, private rental) are analysed. The article outlines policy options in promoting a well-functioning PRS: lessons are drawn on tenancy security, rent-setting regulations, social housing, demand subsidies, fiscal measures for rental and owner-occupied housing and barriers for PRS supply. Experiences from the countries show that it is hard to create a level playing field – there are inefficiencies in all four countries. Nonetheless, there are many positive experiences of stimulating the PRS: reforms in Finland and the Czech Republic stimulated the PRS to become a competitive and important part of the housing market, and Dutch policies are adapted to stimulate a level playing field. The ‘resilience’ of the German housing system during the economic crisis shows that the large PRS and tenure neutrality have important stabilising effects on the German economy.

English

Keywords: housing finance, Netherlands, housing policies, social rental, Germany, housing market, Czech Republic, private rental, housing prices, labour mobility, Finland
JEL: H24: Public Economics / Taxation, Subsidies, and Revenue / Personal Income and Other Nonbusiness Taxes and Subsidies; includes inheritance and gift taxes; R21: Urban, Rural, Regional, Real Estate, and Transportation Economics / Household Analysis / Urban, Rural, Regional, Real Estate, and Transportation Economics: Housing Demand; R52: Urban, Rural, Regional, Real Estate, and Transportation Economics / Regional Government Analysis / Regional Government Analysis: Land Use and Other Regulations; G21: Financial Economics / Financial Institutions and Services / Banks; Depository Institutions; Micro Finance Institutions; Mortgages; R38: Urban, Rural, Regional, Real Estate, and Transportation Economics / Real Estate Markets, Spatial Production Analysis, and Firm Location / Production Analysis and Firm Location: Government Policy; E21: Macroeconomics and Monetary Economics / Consumption, Saving, Production, Investment, Labor Markets, and Informal Economy / Macroeconomics: Consumption; Saving; Wealth; L74: Industrial Organization / Industry Studies: Primary Products and Construction / Construction; R31: Urban, Rural, Regional, Real Estate, and Transportation Economics / Real Estate Markets, Spatial Production Analysis, and Firm Location / Housing Supply and Markets
This is a required field
Please enter a valid email address
Approval was a Success
Invalid data
An Error Occurred
Approval was partially successful, following selected items could not be processed due to error