Assessment of Development Results - Burkina Faso

image of Assessment of Development Results - Burkina Faso

This evaluation covers the period from 2002 to 2008. UNDP demonstrated comparative strengths in the domain of governance (support to the Parliament and decentralization). Another important contribution was to develop innovative pilot activities: the success obtained through multifunctional platforms to generate power and electricity in rural areas, the development of non-timber forest products or the support to civil society initiatives to fight HIV-AIDS epidemics have served as models for a number of other interventions and have attracted significant financing.



Development challenges and strategies

Burkina Faso is a landlocked West African country. Mali is to the north, Nigeria to the east, Benin to the southeast, Togo and Ghana to the south and the Ivory Coast to the southwest. The country of Burkina Faso has a surface area of 274,200 km2 and is divided into 13 regions and subdivided into 45 provinces, 350 departments, 51 communes (all operational and managed by elected mayors), and approximately 8,000 villages. Burkina Faso is a member of the African Union (AU), the Economic Community of West African States (ECOWAS) and the West African Economic and Monetary Union (UEMOA). The president of Burkina Faso played an important role in facilitating the inter-Ivorian dialogue. Additionally, the country is a member of the United Nations Security Council (2008-2009).


This is a required field
Please enter a valid email address
Approval was a Success
Invalid data
An Error Occurred
Approval was partially successful, following selected items could not be processed due to error