SME Policy Index: Western Balkans and Turkey 2019

Assessing the Implementation of the Small Business Act for Europe

image of SME Policy Index: Western Balkans and Turkey 2019

Robust SME sectors are critical to the prosperity of the six Western Balkan economies and Turkey, accounting for over 70% of those employed in the business sector and generating 65% of value added in these seven economies. Yet their potential remains untapped, as SMEs across the region grapple with numerous challenges that hamper their growth and productivity. They are still under-represented in international trade, and their contributions to value-added remain comparatively low as they have difficulties in moving or expanding into high value-added activities.

This report provides a comprehensive overview of the implementation of the ten principles of the Small Business Act for Europe (SBA) in the seven EU pre-accession economies over the period 2016-18. It monitors progress against similar assessments performed over the past decade and identifies the outstanding challenges affecting SMEs. It also provides targeted recommendations to remove barriers to SME development and unleashing their potential for driving inclusive economic growth.


The Small Business Act assessment’s scoring model for Bosnia and Herzegovina

The governance structure of Bosnia and Herzegovina (BiH) comprises the institutions of the state of Bosnia and Herzegovina, the governments of the two territorial and administrative entities – the Federation of Bosnia and Herzegovina (FBiH) and the Republika Srpska (RS) – as well as Brčko District (BD). At entity level, both the FBiH and the RS have significant constitutional autonomy and regulate independently the matters which the Constitution of Bosnia and Herzegovina has not assigned to the state government. The competences of the institutions of Bosnia and Herzegovina are prescribed by Article III, paragraph (1) of the Constitution of Bosnia and Herzegovina. The competences of the entities are prescribed by the same article, in paragraph (2). Paragraph (3) of the article stipulates that all government competences not expressly assigned to the state-level government belong to the entities. The entities’ parliaments have jurisdiction over a range of policies, among them healthcare, education, agriculture, culture, labour, police and internal affairs. Both entities have a president, prime minister and 16 ministries. The FBiH is furthermore divided into ten federal units (cantons), each with its own constitutions that prescribe their legislative, executive and judiciary authority, as well as the functioning of government authorities.


This is a required field
Please enter a valid email address
Approval was a Success
Invalid data
An Error Occurred
Approval was partially successful, following selected items could not be processed due to error