Innovation Policy in Panama

Design, Implementation and Evaluation

image of Innovation Policy in Panama

This report reviews the experience of Panama in designing, implementing and evaluating innovation policy. It provides a comparative analysis of Panama’s innovation performance and reviews the design and implementation of the national innovation policy focusing on the National Plan (2010-2014). The review of the institutional setting, the policy mix and budget for innovation policy includes a comparison with the experience of two peer countries, the Dominican Republic and Uruguay.



Country profile: Panama

OECD Development Centre

Panama is a unitary country with elected regional authorities, composed of the nine provinces of Bocas del Toro, Chiriquí, Coclé, Colón, Darién, Herrera, Los Santos, Panamá, Veraguas, and of five indigenous regions (comarcas): Emberá, Kuna Yala, Madungandi, Ngäbe-Buglé and Wargandi. The provinces and comarcas are further sub-divided into 75 districts and councils, as well as 640 village areas (corregimientos). The capital, located in the province of Panamá, is Panama City.


This is a required field
Please enter a valid email address
Approval was a Success
Invalid data
An Error Occurred
Approval was partially successful, following selected items could not be processed due to error