The Lesotho National Assembly Elections, 23 May 1998

image of The Lesotho National Assembly Elections, 23 May 1998

These Election Reports are the observations, conclusions and recommendations of Commonwealth Observer Groups. The SecretaryGeneral constitutes these observer missions at the request of governments and with the agreement of all significant political parties. At the end of a mission, a report is submitted to the SecretaryGeneral, who makes it available to the government of the country in question, the political parties concerned and to all Commonwealth governments. The report eventually becomes a public document.



The Electoral Framework and Preparations for the Elections

The present Constitution of Lesotho came into force on 2 April 1993. It provides for a Parliament consisting of the King, the Senate and the National Assembly. The Senate comprises the 22 Principal Chiefs and 11 other Senators nominated by the King in accordance with the advice of the Council of State.


This is a required field
Please enter a valid email address
Approval was a Success
Invalid data
An Error Occurred
Approval was partially successful, following selected items could not be processed due to error