The Commonwealth at the Summit

Communiqués of Commonwealth Heads of Government Meetings, Volume 3: 1997–2005

image of The Commonwealth at the Summit
The Commonwealth at the Summit: Volume 3 contains the full text of declarations, statements and communiqués issued by Commonwealth Heads of Government between 1997 and 2005. It follows volumes 1 and 2 published in 1987 and 1997 respectively.

This volume covers the meetings held in Edinburgh (1997), Durban (1999), Coolum (2002), Abuja (2003) and Malta (2005).

It carries a foreword by Commonwealth Secretary-General Don McKinnon, exploring the developing priorities of the association over a decade of activity.



Meeting of commonwealth prime ministers, JANUARY 1966: (Lagos, 10-12 January)

The meeting of Commonwealth Heads of Government under the Chairmanship of Alhaji The Right Honourable Sir Abubakar Tafawa Balewa, Prime Minister of Nigeria, ended today in Lagos. Cyprus was represented by its President and Zambia by its Vice-President. In addition to Nigeria, Britain, Canada, The Gambia, Malawi, Malta, Sierra Leone, Singapore and Uganda were represented by their Prime Ministers: Jamaica was represented by its Acting Prime Minister while Malaysia and Trinidad and Tobago were represented by their Deputy Prime Ministers.


This is a required field
Please enter a valid email address
Approval was a Success
Invalid data
An Error Occurred
Approval was partially successful, following selected items could not be processed due to error