Review of Fisheries in OECD Countries 2009

Policies and Summary Statistics

image of Review of Fisheries in OECD Countries 2009

This publication describes major developments affecting fisheries in OECD countries in 2005, 2006 and some recent events of 2007, including changes in national and international policies, trade, and fisheries and aquaculture production. This edition contains a special chapter on Climate Change, Adaptation and the Fisheries Sector: A Review of the Key Issues. 

COUNTRIES COVERED: Argentina, Chinese Taipei, Thailand (observers); Australia, Belgium Canada, Czech Republic, Denmark, Finland, France Germany, Greece, Icelend, Ireland, Italy, Japan, Korea, Mexico, The Netherlands, New Zealand, Norway, Poland, Portugal, Slovak Republic, Spain, Sweden, Turkey, United Kingdom, United States.



United States

The reauthorization of the Magnuson-Stevens Fishery Conservation and Management Act in 2007 provides an updated legal framework for addressing a wide variety of marine stewardship issues. The reauthorized law mandates a date-certain end to overfishing, promotes market-based management, strengthens the role of science, improves data on recreational fisheries, and includes new measures to combat illegal, unreported and unregulated (IUU) fishing and to reduce bycatch in global fisheries.


This is a required field
Please enter a valid email address
Approval was a Success
Invalid data
An Error Occurred
Approval was partially successful, following selected items could not be processed due to error