Review of Fisheries in OECD Countries 2009

Policies and Summary Statistics

image of Review of Fisheries in OECD Countries 2009

This publication describes major developments affecting fisheries in OECD countries in 2005, 2006 and some recent events of 2007, including changes in national and international policies, trade, and fisheries and aquaculture production. This edition contains a special chapter on Climate Change, Adaptation and the Fisheries Sector: A Review of the Key Issues. 

COUNTRIES COVERED: Argentina, Chinese Taipei, Thailand (observers); Australia, Belgium Canada, Czech Republic, Denmark, Finland, France Germany, Greece, Icelend, Ireland, Italy, Japan, Korea, Mexico, The Netherlands, New Zealand, Norway, Poland, Portugal, Slovak Republic, Spain, Sweden, Turkey, United Kingdom, United States.



United Kingdom

The UK continues to develop its policy strategy both domestically as well as pushing forward the global agenda on lllegal, Unregulated and Unreported fishing (IUU). In 2007, a 20-year strategy called Fisheries 2027 was published to guide future fisheries policy and provide direction for everyone with an interest in marine fisheries. Defra also published a draft implementation plan in October 2007 called Delivering Fisheries 2027 which it is developing with stakeholders into a shared long-term contract to achieve sustainable fisheries.


This is a required field
Please enter a valid email address
Approval was a Success
Invalid data
An Error Occurred
Approval was partially successful, following selected items could not be processed due to error