Review of Fisheries in OECD Countries 2009

Policies and Summary Statistics

image of Review of Fisheries in OECD Countries 2009

This publication describes major developments affecting fisheries in OECD countries in 2005, 2006 and some recent events of 2007, including changes in national and international policies, trade, and fisheries and aquaculture production. This edition contains a special chapter on Climate Change, Adaptation and the Fisheries Sector: A Review of the Key Issues. 

COUNTRIES COVERED: Argentina, Chinese Taipei, Thailand (observers); Australia, Belgium Canada, Czech Republic, Denmark, Finland, France Germany, Greece, Icelend, Ireland, Italy, Japan, Korea, Mexico, The Netherlands, New Zealand, Norway, Poland, Portugal, Slovak Republic, Spain, Sweden, Turkey, United Kingdom, United States.



European Community

For the period 2007-2013, a new Council Regulation establishes a European Fisheries Fund (EFF) which succeeds the previous Financial Instrument of Fisheries Guidance (FIFG). The EFF is designed to secure a sustainable European fishing and aquaculture industry. The fund will both support the industry as it adapts its fleet to make it more competitive and promote measures to protect and enhance the environment. It will also help fisheries communities most affected to diversify their economic base.


This is a required field
Please enter a valid email address
Approval was a Success
Invalid data
An Error Occurred
Approval was partially successful, following selected items could not be processed due to error