1887

Documents de travail du Département des Affaires économiques de l'OCDE

Documents de travail du Département des affaires économiques de l’OCDE recouvrant toutes les activités de ce département : conjoncture économique, analyse politique et projections ; politique fiscale, dépenses publiques et fiscalité ; questions structurelles dont le vieillissement, la croissance et la productivité, la migration, l’environnement, le capital humain, le logement, les échanges et les investissements, les marchés de l’emploi, la réforme réglementaire, la concurrence, la santé et d’autres thèmes.

Anglais, Français

Un réexamen des NAIRUs après la crise

La crise de la crise financière a entraîné une augmentation importante du chômage dans l'OCDE. Ce document montre que cette augmentation a inversé la tendance á la réduction du chômage structurel que l’on avait été estimé avoir eu lieu dans la plupart des pays de l'OCDE depuis la fin des années 1990. Le chômage structurel est défini comme à un NAIRU variant dans le temps et dérivé de l'information contenue dans une équation de courbe de Phillips réduite (reliant l'inflation à l'écart du chômage au chômage structurel) au moyen d'un filtre de Kalman. Les révisions dans l’ensemble limitées du NAIRU historique estimés en 2008 après un tel choc sur le marché du travail supportent la robustesse de l'approche de l'OCDE. Cette approche est donc étendue à presque tous les pays de l'OCDE. Des spécifications alternatives de la courbe de Phillips sont proposées pour certains groupes spécifiques du pays.

Anglais

Mots-clés: chômage, NAIRU, chômage structurel, courbe de Phillips
JEL: C32: Mathematical and Quantitative Methods / Multiple or Simultaneous Equation Models; Multiple Variables / Multiple or Simultaneous Equation Models: Time-Series Models; Dynamic Quantile Regressions; Dynamic Treatment Effect Models; Diffusion Processes; State Space Models; E31: Macroeconomics and Monetary Economics / Prices, Business Fluctuations, and Cycles / Price Level; Inflation; Deflation; J6: Labor and Demographic Economics / Mobility, Unemployment, Vacancies, and Immigrant Workers; J3: Labor and Demographic Economics / Wages, Compensation, and Labor Costs; E24: Macroeconomics and Monetary Economics / Consumption, Saving, Production, Investment, Labor Markets, and Informal Economy / Employment; Unemployment; Wages; Intergenerational Income Distribution; Aggregate Human Capital; Aggregate Labor Productivity
This is a required field
Please enter a valid email address
Approval was a Success
Invalid data
An Error Occurred
Approval was partially successful, following selected items could not be processed due to error

OECD Economics Department Working Papers

ISSN :
1815-1973 (online)
DOI :
10.1787/18151973
Hide / Show Abstract
Working papers from the Economics Department of the OECD that cover the full range of the Department’s work including the economic situation, policy analysis and projections; fiscal policy, public expenditure and taxation; and structural issues including ageing, growth and productivity, migration, environment, human capital, housing, trade and investment, labour markets, regulatory reform, competition, health, and other issues.

The views expressed in these papers are those of the author(s) and do not necessarily reflect those of the OECD or of the governments of its member countries.

 

Reassessing the NAIRUs after the Crisis You or your institution have access to this content

Click to Access: 
Author(s):
St├ęphanie Guichard, Elena Rusticelli1
Author Affiliations
  • 1: OECD, France

Publication Date
19 Dec 2011
Bibliographic information
No.:
918
Pages
28
DOI
10.1787/5kg0kp712f6l-en

Hide / Show Abstract

The financial crisis has resulted in a substantial increase in unemployment in the OECD. This paper shows that this increase has reversed the reduction in structural unemployment which has been estimated to have occurred in most OECD countries since the late 1990s. Structural unemployment is defined as a time-varying NAIRU derived from the information contained in a reduced Phillips curve equation (linking inflation to the unemployment gap) by means of a Kalman filter. The overall limited revisions in historical NAIRU estimated in 2008 after such a large labour market shock support the robustness of the OECD approach. This approach is therefore extended to almost all OECD countries. Alternative specifications of the Phillips curve are proposed for some specific groups of countries.
Keywords:
structural unemployment, NAIRU, unemployment, Phillips curves
JEL Classification:
  • C32: Mathematical and Quantitative Methods / Multiple or Simultaneous Equation Models; Multiple Variables / Time-Series Models; Dynamic Quantile Regressions; Dynamic Treatment Effect Models
  • E24: Macroeconomics and Monetary Economics / Macroeconomics: Consumption, Saving, Production, Employment, and Investment / Employment; Unemployment; Wages; Intergenerational Income Distribution; Aggregate Human Capital
  • E31: Macroeconomics and Monetary Economics / Prices, Business Fluctuations, and Cycles / Price Level; Inflation; Deflation
  • J3: Labor and Demographic Economics / Wages, Compensation, and Labor Costs
  • J6: Labor and Demographic Economics / Mobility, Unemployment, and Vacancies